You are here

NTIA Announces Members of Commerce Spectrum Management Advisory Committee

February 14, 2022

News Media Contact:

WASHINGTON – Today, the U.S. Department of Commerce’s National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA) announced that Secretary of Commerce Gina M. Raimondo has appointed 29 outside experts to serve on the Commerce Spectrum Management Advisory Committee (CSMAC), which provides advice on a range of policy and technical issues related to wireless technology and the use of spectrum.

The outside experts will serve two-year terms, and include 16 reappointments and 13 members who are new to the committee. The committee will be led by two co-chairs: Charla Rath, independent consultant,and Jennifer Manner, Senior Vice President of Regulatory Affairs at EchoStar Corporation.  

“Spectrum powers so much of our modern world − from commercial wireless services like 5G to aviation, space travel, climate observation and more,” said Secretary of Commerce Gina M. Raimondo. “I want to thank the new and returning members of this important committee for their guidance as we seek to meet our country’s spectrum needs now and in the future.”

“The way we manage the nation’s valuable spectrum resources is of increasing importance to our economy and to consumers. I am grateful to Secretary Raimondo for appointing a diverse and expert committee that will help NTIA shape our strategy for spectrum management,” said Alan Davidson, Assistant Secretary of Commerce for Communications and Information and NTIA Administrator. “I want to thank in advance all of the committee members for their service, and I look forward to their advice.”

The Secretary selected members of the committee based on their technical background and experience, as well as diversity and balance in points of view, consistent with the CSMAC Membership Balance Plan.  As Special Government Employees (SGEs), members serve as experts in their fields and do not represent any organization or interest.